Make your own free website on


| Anguilla  |  Antigua/Barbuda  |  BarbadosCayman Islands  |  Dominica  |  Haiti  |  Dominican Republic  |  BVI  |
Puerto RicoJamaica  |  St Martin/St Maarten  |  St Kitts/Nevis  |  Guadeloupe  | Martinique |

The Islands of the Caribbean are a large group of islands that separate the Caribbean Sea from the Atlantic Ocean.

The Greater Antilles include the island countries of Cuba, Jamaica, Haiti, the Dominican Republic (Hispaniola), and Puerto Rico.The Lesser Antilles are the much smaller islands to the southeast, and they are divided into two (2) groups, the Leeward Islands and Windward Islands.


Leeward Islands -  northern group of the Lesser Antilles in the West Indies, extending SE from Puerto Rico to the Windward Islands. The principal islands are the U.S Virgin Islands; the French island and overseas dept. of Guadeloupe and its dependencies; the Dutch islands of St. Eustatius and Saba; the Dutch and French St. Martin; the islands of the independent states of St. Kitts and Nevis and Antigua and Barbuda; and the islands of the British dependent territories of Anguilla, Montserrat, and the British Virgin Islands. Largely volcanic in origin, the Leewards have lush, subtropical vegetation, rich soil, and abundant rainfall. The warm, delightful climate is tempered by the surrounding water so that there is little variation in temperature. Most of the islands are popular tourist destinations. Products are mostly agricultural—fruits, vegetables, sugar, cotton, coffee, and tobacco.

Windward Islands - southern group of the Lesser Antilles in the West Indies, curving generally southward for c.300 mi (480 km) from the Leeward Islands toward NE Venezuela. Excluding Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago, which are in the region but are not part of the group, the Windward Islands consist of the French overseas dept. of Martinique and the former British Windward Islands (c.700 sq mi/1,810 sq km). The former British islands consist of the independent states of Dominica, Grenada, Saint Lucia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

  Most islands at some point were, or still are, colonies of European nations:

| St Lucia  |  Grenada  | St Vincent/Grenadines  |  Aruba  |  Curacao  |  Trinidad & Tobago  |
| Turks & Caicos  |  Guyana  |  US VI  |

Cricket - the game West Indians Love.

Your vacation island in the West Indies awaits you. . .

Come soak up some Sun.

[ Next ] ~ [ Email ]